Compared to Utah or even Oregon, California laws are quite distracted driving-friendly when it comes to imposing penalties. For a first offense and second offense, you will face a base fine of $20 and $50, respectively. Because California’s laws do not impose harsher penalties for distracted driving, the occurrence of car crashes caused by drivers distracted by their phones continues to increase dramatically.
“So what should I do if I have been injured in a car accident caused by distracted driving?” you may be wondering. Your best bet is to consult with an experienced car collisions attorney in Los Angeles at the Law Offices of Howard Craig Kornberg to find out what legal options are available in your particular case. Call the Law offices at 310-997-0904 for a free case evaluation.